[Volume One] Chapter 002

Bandits

[200 Points Acquired]

I woke up with that notification on my Menu.

The golem was still standing there gloriously.
Around its legs were 3 black marbles.

I clicked [Pick up Items] in the [Sanctuary] menu and the marbles disappeared.

[Black-Monster Core]

Can be used to summon the slain monsters instead of using Points.

Glorious.
This is pure gold.

I checked the [Activities Log] and saw that at 1 AM, three Shadow Wolves walked into my land and were slain by the Golem.

Nice.
I used all three marbles to re-summon three Shadow Wolves.
I accessed their behaviors through [Settings] and had them go hunt for themselves.

I also set them as [Scout] to sniff for dangers and spy for any potential intruders.
With that, during the day, all four of them will remain here and protect the shrine.
During night, the Shadow Wolves will go into the forest to hunt and scout.

From the [Log], I also found out that with the presence of the Golem, my daily points rose to 50/day.
And killing 3 Shadow Wolves got me another 150 Points.

I also figured out [Standby Mode].

When I accessed the Golem through [Settings], I clicked [Standby] and the Golem just disappeared.
Its magic circle was still on the ground but the status said [Invisible to naked eyes].

For the Shadow Wolves, they just kind of merged into the shadows and lurk for the time to attack.

With that, I’ll be able to attract intruders easier.
The guardians won’t accidentally kill innocent people either.

Back to [Sanctuary], I found something pretty cool.

[Attraction]: 0

The cost was 200 Points for 1 point of Attraction.

Damn…
I hesitated over it a little.
But decided to do it in the end.

With a bit more attraction, I can earn back the points more easily.
Even just a little bit, it should work better than 0 attraction at all.

With no other things to do, I just kind of spaced out and took a nap.

I then got waken up by the notification sound.

[Intruders incoming]
Observer: Shadow Wolf 01

Good thing I set them as scouts.
They sniffed out the intruders even from the shadows.
How convenient…

From the [Sanctuary] menu, I pulled out a window for surveillance monitoring.

6 people.
Armed with swords, daggers and bows.
They only had leather armors.

「****! ********….」
「*** ***** ********!!」

I activated [Eavesdrop] but couldn’t understand the language at all.

So from a drop down menu in [Settings], I picked [Language – Human] and hit [Filter].

「What did you see?」
「A small house…looks like a shrine」
「Good. There are usually some good offerings in a shrine」
「Let’s earn back the deficit. We didn’t get much from that carriage earlier…」

I can understand them now.
Seems like they’re all bandits.
Their conversations have always been about killing this and that, or looting here and there…

Perfect source of Points for me.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not on the side of justice who purifies the bad or anything.
It’s just that they made decisions in their lives and became bandits.
So when they try to rob from people, they need to be prepare to be robbed back someday.

They planned to attack me, so I’m simply just defending myself.
If my guardians happen to kill them, they’ll just reap what they sow…

(Bandits Leader’s POV)

Today has been a terrible day for us.

We tried to rob a carriage but turned out it belongs to the Black Council.

We had to prostrate and ask for forgiveness.
If we tried anything funny our lives as bandits would stop immediately.

The Black Council regulates goods for underground criminals.
If we still have the need of going to brothels or slum weapon shops, we need their approval…

After that, we stopped a pair of adventurers but turned out they were S-ranks.

We got beaten to half-death, but were able to escape with 4 of us being captured.

But it’s not the end yet, my underling just spotted a shrine nearby.
We should get something good out of this place.

I’ve been to the Utel Sanctuary in the royal capital before.
And I mean way before when I was still a Knight.

There I saw countless pieces of valuable items being offered.
Luxurious food and even magic elixirs were there.
After that I did some research and found out that Sanctuaries always have at least some kinds of valuable items inside.

With that in mind, we approached the shrine.

「What…the fuck…」

There was nothing inside…
Except for a wooden idol.
And it was so ugly too…

「Haaa…what kind of fucking God is this?」
「Then what should we do, Boss?」

I feel like I just got laughed in the face by this goddamn bastard who calls himself the God of this Shrine.

I’ll show him how to call himself God.
This kind of humiliation just earned you my anger, “God”!

「Let’s go outside and burn it down. Prepare the fire!」
「Yessir」

The moment we stepped outside, the people who were on guards were dead.
All three of them, what happened?

「Move in pairs! Be careful…search for attackers!」

I gave out orders on instincts and pulled my sword out of its sheath.
We moved around slowly with absolute awareness.

「Arhhhhhhh!!!!!」
「What?!?」

I turned around at the scream and saw a Shadow Wolf ripping off my underling’s neck.

What the fuck?
Shadow Wolves aren’t the kind of monster we could encounter near shrines…
Or perhaps this one is the guardian of a Dark God?

Casting the speculations aside, I jumped in but was blocked by something huge.
I was sent flying back after feeling an impact on my chest.

When I used the last bit of my strength to look up, it was a black Golem.
Heck, we just messed with the wrong shrine…

The first time we tried to plunder a shrine…was also the last time we were able to breathe…I wonder how the hell did it turn out like this…

…hahaha…

One thought on “[Volume One] Chapter 002

Leave a comment